Monopoly Deal “Just Say No” Card: Frequently Asked Questions

Monopoly Deal, a swift and strategic card adaptation of the classic board game, introduces many unique cards, none more impactful than the “Just Say No” card.

This special card lets players counter actions, often shifting the tide of the game.

In this post, we’ll dive into the most common questions about this game-changer to sharpen your gameplay strategies.

How is the “Just Say No” card used during gameplay?

The “Just Say No” card acts as a player’s shield against various actions in Monopoly Deal.

When an opponent plays an action card that would negatively impact you – be it demanding rent, forcing a property trade, or any other action card – you can play the “Just Say No” card to nullify that action.

This counteraction ends the effect of the original card, essentially protecting your assets or strategy.

A player about to play the "Just Say No!" card in a game of Monopoly Deal
An opponent has just played the “Deal Breaker” card, however the player can nullify the action by instantly playing the “Just Say No!” card

Once you’ve played the “Just Say No” card, it goes into the discard pile and is out of play for that round.

Can you counter a “Just Say No” card with another “Just Say No” card?

Yes, you certainly can!

One of the most exhilarating moments in Monopoly Deal arises when players engage in a “Just Say No” showdown.

If Player A uses an action card against Player B and Player B counters with a “Just Say No” card, Player A can respond with their own “Just Say No” card to negate Player B’s counter.

A player about to play the "Just Say No!" card to counteract another "Just Say No!" card in a game of Monopoly Deal
The player has just played a “Rent” card, which the opponent has attempted to nullify by playing a “Just Say No!” card. The player counteracts this action by also player a “Just Say No!” card, forcing the opponent to pay against the original “Rent” card

This can continue back and forth as long as players have “Just Say No” cards in their hand. It’s a rapid-fire exchange that can drastically change the outcome of a turn and even the entire game.

How many “Just Say No” cards are in the Monopoly Deal deck?

In a standard Monopoly Deal deck, there are three “Just Say No” cards.

While this might seem like a small number given the deck’s size, the relative rarity of this card makes it all the more valuable.

The three "Just Say No!" cards placed down on a wooden table

Players need to strategise not only when to use their “Just Say No” cards but also anticipate how many might still be in play based on what’s been seen so far.

Remembering who has used their “Just Say No” cards and gauging when they might be drawn again can significantly influence decision-making throughout the game.

What are the limitations of the “Just Say No” card?

The “Just Say No” card, while influential, is not an all-powerful shield. Its main restrictions are:

  • During Your Own Turn: The “Just Say No” card is designed for defensive play. As such, you can’t use it during your own turn to counteract a “Just Say No” card played against your actions.
  • Against Passive Actions: The card’s power is to negate active moves made against you. Passive actions, like placing property cards or banking money cards, are immune to the “Just Say No” card.
  • Card Draw Actions: If an action instructs players to draw extra cards, the “Just Say No” card cannot be used to counter this.

How Many Times Can The “Just Say No” Card Be Used In a Game Of Monopoly Deal?

Whilst there are only three “Just Say No” cards in a single deck, there’s a misconception that once all three “Just Say No” cards are played, they’re out of the game.

Remember, once the draw pile is exhausted, the discard pile is reshuffled, bringing the possibility of drawing those cards again.

What are some advanced strategies for effectively using the “Just Say No” card?

Mastering the use of the “Just Say No” card can elevate a player from good to great. Here are some expert tips:

  • Bluffing: Just the suspicion that you might have a “Just Say No” card can deter opponents from playing aggressive action cards against you. Even if you don’t have one, maintaining a poker face can be a game-changer.
  • Timing is Everything: Resist the urge to play your “Just Say No” card at the first opportunity. Instead, evaluate the gameplay and decide if the current threat is significant or if there might be a bigger one looming.
  • Baiting the Opponent: Play in such a way that your opponent feels confident in making a strong move, only to counter it with “Just Say No.” This not only wastes their card but can also demoralize them.
  • Recall and Recount: As the game progresses, try to keep track of how many “Just Say No” cards have been played. If all three have been seen and the draw pile is getting thin, chances are they might come up again soon.

Can you play the “Just Say No” card on Another “Just Say No” Card?

Yes. As highlighted earlier, you can counter a “Just Say No” card with another, leading to a potential chain of counters.

Can you play the “Just Say No” card on House or Hotel Property Additions?

No. These are passive additions to property sets, and the “Just Say No” card cannot negate their placement.

Can you play the “Just Say No” card on a “Deal Breaker” Card?

Yes. If an opponent tries to take a complete set of properties from you using the “Deal Breaker” card, you can use “Just Say No” to stop them.

This is arguably the best use of the card, so consider keeping hold of your “Just Say No” card if you’ve got an attractive full set of properties waiting to be stolen by another player.

Can you play the “Just Say No” card on “It’s My Birthday” Card?

Yes. If someone uses this card to ask all players for payment, you can play “Just Say No” to avoid giving money.

How does the “Just Say No” card impact overall game strategy?

The “Just Say No” card introduces a layer of unpredictability and strategic depth to Monopoly Deal.

Here’s how its presence influences game dynamics:

  • Psychological Play: Knowing that an opponent might have a “Just Say No” card makes players reconsider their offensive moves. Is it the right time to demand a high rent or better to wait?
  • Resource Management: With only three of these cards in the deck, players must decide when it’s best to use them. Do you use it early to protect a budding property set or save it for a potential game-saving move later on?
  • Memory Skills: As the game progresses, players who can recall who has played a “Just Say No” card and who might still have one can make more informed decisions.
  • Balancing Offense with Défense: While it’s tempting to use the card at the first sign of danger, sometimes absorbing a hit and saving your “Just Say No” for a more critical moment is the smarter play.

2 thoughts on “Monopoly Deal “Just Say No” Card: Frequently Asked Questions”

  1. After using a deal breaker card as my first card to play on my turn to steal a whole set from my opponent which included a property wild card I started to move the cards around with my properties to make other complete sets. Then he decided after I broke down the complete set that I stole from him to use a just say no card. Is there a time limit after an action card is played to use the just say no card? Or is he allowed to play the just say no card after I’ve stolen the property and moved the properties around?

    • Great question Valerie!

      I don’t believe there is anything in the rules around time limits, unfortunately, so there isn’t a strict yes or no answer to this.

      When I play with friends, we declare when we have completed our turn. If someone is going to use the ‘Just Say No’ card, then I would expect them to play it within a few seconds. I always wait for a few seconds after playing an action card and declaring my turn is over, just to give the other player a chance to play the ‘Just Say No’ card.

      If there was a significant delay to them playing the card then I would say that’s very frustrating, but technically a legal move. It shouldn’t affect the overall gameplay, it’s just a pain for you to have to put your cards back into their previous sets!

      That said, if I was in your position and you had just rearranged your cards in a manner where you have 3 complete sets (therefore winning the game), then I would say it would NOT be acceptable for them to play the card AFTER you had done so and announced winning!


Leave a comment